Archbishop's Office

The Ordinary of the Archdiocese is His Grace Philip Anyolo, the Metropolitan Archbishop of Nairobi.

Archbishop Philip Anyolo was born in May 18th, 1956, in Tongaren, Bungoma.

He is the second born in a family of ten children of the late Mzee Paul Anyolo and Mama Dina Nekesa.

He attended Kakamwe primary school, Tongaren. He later attended Mother of Apostles Minor Seminary – Eldoret. He later joined St. Augustine Major Seminary – Mabanga, for philosophy and later St. Thomas Aquinas – Nairobi for theological studies.

In 1982, he was ordained deacon for the Catholic Diocese of Eldoret and priest in October 15th, 1983, by then Bishop of Eldoret, Rt. Rev. John Njenga.

As a priest of Eldoret, his first appointment was as the Bishop‘s Secretary where he served for two and a half years. During this period,  he assisted in the Cathedral and in other parishes.

In 1987, he left for Austria for further studies. He completed his Ph.D. in Systematic Theology and returned to his diocese where he continued with his role as the Bishop‘s Secretary. He also worked as Chaplain of Moi University and a visiting lecturer at St. Matthias Mulumba Major Seminary.

On 6th December 1995,  Pope John Paul II appointed Philip Anyolo as Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Kericho. He was consecrated as the first bishop of the Kericho diocese on 3rd February 1996.  

On 20th February 2002, Archbishop Anyolo was appointed Apostolic Administrator of the Catholic Diocese of Homabay upon the resignation of Rt. Rev. Linus Okok Okwach.

On 22nd March 2003, Pope John Paul II appointed him as the second Bishop of Homabay. He was installed on 23rd May 2003.

He was later appointed as the Archbishop of Kisumu on 15th November 2018 and installed on 12th January 2019.

On 28th October 2021, Pope Francis appointed Archbishop Philip Anyolo as Archbishop of Nairobi. He was installed as the Archbishop of Nairobi on 20th Nov. 2021.

Archbishop Anyolo succeeded His Eminence John Cardinal Njue who retired on 4th January 2021 upon attaining the official retirement age.